LZ31-SN first impressions

So I received the 6 dimmers that I pre-ordered end of last week and started installing them over the weekend. I’ve got 5 of the 6 in so far and so far have been pretty happy. There’s ALOT you can do with these and I feel like I haven’t even scratched the surface yet in terms of scenes, notifications, integration, etc…

Installation wasn’t very hard at all. I’m a novice when it comes to AC wiring and really only ran into two minor hiccups when putting these in. I’m running these on a Smartthings hub and 4 of the 6 dimmers are on 3 way circuits. I’ve got a neutral wire in every location that a smart dimmer has gone into as well. Here’s my experience so far:

1. First dimmer installed in our bedroom was a normal dimmer controlling 4 led high hats. These are 13w sunco fully dimmable LED retrofits and I immediately noticed that all 4 did not fully shut off even after adjusting min/max settings, etc… I ended up having to put a bypass resistor behind the switch to take care of this. Not sure why as my living room has the exact same retrofits on 2 different circuits (split the living room lights into 2 groups of 2) and I do not have any problems with flickering/not shutting off completely on either dimmer).

2. When I first installed the dimmers in 3 way locations, everything seemed to be working until I realized I could only control the dumb switch if the smart dimmer had already been “on.” I assumed that I had simply wired something wrong but after pulling out the dimmers while I was troubleshooting with an electrician friend, I realized that I had simply not configured these in smartthings to be 3 ways.