LZW31-SN 4-Way Wiring Help

LZW31-SN
Neutral
4-Way
Inovelli with 2 dumb switches

Hi, I recently bought a Gen2 dimmer switch and was trying to wire it for my 4-way installation. It looks like my setup is a little bit different than the examples in the wiring diagrams and what I can see in other posts so I was hoping I could get some help. It looks like my two dumb switches are wired straight to the main switch instead of daisy chained like the examples. Would love some help on how I should wire the LZW31-SN. Sorry, I’m a total novice when it comes to electrical so I just want to make sure I’m doing it correctly and I hope my drawing is accurate based on what I can see behind the existing switches. Thanks!!

Well that’s definitely one way to do it. Don’t know if you’ll be able to get working without using multiple smart switches, or aux switches.

Ah, okay. I’ll do some more research to see if I want to go down that route. Thanks!

At first blush I think you can get it going with one Smart Dimmer and 2 dumb 3-Way.

The best option is to put the smart switch in the left hand box. There may be other options but this is the most likely. If that location is OK I’ll take a closer look.

1 Like

Yes. The left hand box is actually my preferred location. I’d appreciate any tips. Thanks!

Well, I though I had an way to use the dumb 3-Ways but no go. However you can use 2 Aux switches. The good thing is the Aux switches also give you dimming capability at every switch.

It might help to think of the Aux switch as a remote control for the toggle on the main dimmer. There is no lag like you would get if you went through the hub.

Let me know if you have any questions.

UPDATE Almost forgot. Be sure to cap (wire nut) both ends of the unused wires.

2 Likes

Thanks. I’ll look into getting a couple Aux switches.