New red Dimmer switch setup question

I have 10 lights in my basement all connected to one outlet. I want to make the room a smart room. I bought a red dimmer switch and I noticed that in my wiring, I have a black wire a white wire and a copper wire. Inovelli provided some excellent instructions for a wide variety of hookups, but I never found the one that mentions if you have a copper wire as your ground. How do I hook that up? Did I buy the wrong dimmer switch, I’m not an electrician so feel free to make fun of me. Thanks for the help

Are the lights really connected to an outlet? Or did you mean switch? I’m asking as if they really are plugged into an outlet, it’s not a good idea (and violates most codes) to connect a dimmer to a receptacle.

Assuming the lights are connected to a switch, is there only one 2-conductor Romex in the box? If there is only one 2-wire in the box, then you have a no-neutral configuration. The bottom of page 3 on the right describes your configuration.

One of the two conductors in the box will be hot. You can test by using a meter with one probe on the ground and the other on the disconnected black or white. The hot goes to the Line terminal. The other one goes to the Load terminal.

The bare copper is your ground. You should pigtail a bare copper and connect that to the ground (green) terminal on the dimmer. (Pull an 8" piece of bare copper from a piece of Romex.)

You will need a bypass installed at one of the lights.

It might not hurt to post pictures with the switch pulled out and a clear view of everything in the box.

Sorry for my terminology. It was an on/off switch.

I have one wire coming out of the on/off switch outlet. It has three wires in it, black, white and copper. on the back of the dimmer switch there are four labels; line, load, neutral, traveler. Should I connect the copper wire neutral? I’m going to assume I connect the black wire to load and white wire to line.