Preferred firmware update method

Hi all, I want to try out the new 1.52 firmware for my lzw31-sn switches. I’ve found all the requisite files and such, but as I’ve never performed a z-wave firmware update before, I was looking for a little guidance. I’d prefer to do this OTA from my Hubitat C7. I’ve found 2 methods for doing this.

1. Using the Inovelli guide here: https://support.inovelli.com/portal/en/kb/articles/how-to-update-your-dimmer-switch-firmware-hubitat
  2. Using the Hubitat provided “Device Firmware Updater” app.

Does anyone have any recommendations of 1 over the other? While I do consider myself rather savvy, I’m still quite new to Z-wave and am still learning the ins and outs.

Thanks in advance!

Hi Clinton,

I’m on Hubitat C-5, but if I understand correctly, the new in-built “Device Firmware Updater” is a stub for upcoming functionality Correction, reading further, the built in app may work; but I’ve never tried it. You’ll want to I use the user app (item #1 above). You can install it using the method described in the link above, or using the “Hubitat Package Manager” app. I prefer using the HPM for apps and drivers.

Be aware that there are two versions of the app, the older “non-binary” version; and the newer “binary” version, which supports the .BIN files. Looking at the link you provided on the screenshot of the updater page, the “Update firmware” button has fields for the image URL and “Firmware target” number. If the app installed does not have the target number, then you have the “non-binary” version installed. I think HPM installs the correct one; following the link you provided installs the correct “binary” version.

Thanks for the insight! I’ll give it a try.

If you are using a Hubitat updater I would only use the Hubitat Device Firmware Updater, which Bryan also wrote and replaced his earlier Firmware Updater. You do not need HPM to install it as it is an app provided by Hubitat, you just need to select it from the list to install it.