Scenes On Red - What am I doing wrong?

So I’m a total noob. Installed the switches, struggled some with the process on my Hubitat, but was eventually able to get everything working. Red dimmers upgraded to 1.48 and my HE C-7 is running 2.2.3.145.

My issue now seems to be with scenes, which I’m setting up for the first time. I setup a rule in Rule Machine following the tutorial for the switch but it’s not controlling properly. Do I need to put the dimmer in a different mode? Do I disable local control? It didn’t seem to help.

The switch is just connected to a standard bulb. I’m using the latest driver from my HE (Inovelli Dimmer Red Series LZW31-SN), which looks to have all the features and from what I read should be ok to use after the most recent update.

I just set up some basic button modes to just get started.

The switch seems to work like a normal switch. Push = On / Pull = Off / Holding dims. I can control the switch from the device page and dashboard.

Am I missing something? Obviously I am. :smiley: What am I missing though?

The first thing you should do is to the “Kitchen - Single Light” device page.
Look at the events screen.
Now for each combination of button actions on the Kitchen light switch see what the Events recognized that action for.

I don’t have the same dimmer as you so mine will be different but for example:

I pushed down 2 times fairly quickly, my events showed “button 3 pushed”

So the “Scene” capability is simply the ability to send different messages to the hub when buttons are pushed in a specific sequence (ie. up twice).
If you had a non scene capable dimmer, the events page would show nothing when you pushed a button twice (except that light would go on).

Now
Looking at your button device setup, the only action you need is the last. The buttons on the dimmer will operate the dimmer without setting anything up.

2 Likes