Blue: switch on -> blinking

I’m new with Inovelli. Just installed a bunch of “blue” switches. All work as expected but one: when turning it on (switch mode), the (LED) lights start blinking (about 2 Hz) for a while and then turn on solid.

No problem with another switch. Is my Inovelli blue defective or just a weird configuration?

LEDs on the switch or the LEDs connected to the load?

I just changed line and load. Still blinking, but with a slightly faster frequency and it does not stop blinking any more.

So I assume line and load were correctly connected before.

Neutral/Non-Neutral setup?
What kind of bulbs?

Do you have access to a multimeter or test light to make sure you’ve got your wiring correct?

yes! Line is on Line, Load is on Load.

When I remove the Inovelli Switch and replace it by a dumb 2-way switch, it works!

1 Like

Let’s try this again… Neutral or no neutral? What kind of bulbs (and total wattage of load)?

Line to Line
Load to Load
Neutral connected
grounded

Load is: 4 x LED light 5.5 W each
(https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07X9VR4N9/ )

1. Inovelli Blue in Switch mode:
    blinking for 5 to 20 seconds, then constant light (for hours)

2. Inovelli Blue in Dimmer mode:
    constant light until ~ 85% reached, then blinking for 5 to 20 seconds, then constant light

May just need to install an Aeotec bypass.

1 Like

I’m going to guess it’s a bulb incompatibility. Apparently, Feit bulbs can be funky. A different smart switch manufacturer recommends not using Feit bulbs with their switches.

You may be able to get by with a reduced output. Since it seems to work ok in the dimmer mode up to 85%, try setting the max output to 83%. That will adjust the dimming scale so that it will scale 0 - 100 but still limit the max output. In the switch mode, that 100% will be the reduced output as well. And that output will be below the trouble point reached in the dimmer.