Five Switches controlling lights on back deck

Hello, I am new to inovelli. I have two other z-wave switches on 2-way circuits. My challenge, I am wanting to control the lights on my back deck but, five of the entry points to the back deck have a switch controlling the lights. I am not really savvy and more like a little gun shy when working with wiring to I was wondering if anyone has a solution for this situation. I skimmed the existing posts and did not see anything. Thank you for any help.

Welcome to the community, I’m sure we can help you.

So to be clear, you have 5 switches all controlling the back deck lights, in a configuration that you can switch the back deck lights on or off from any of the 5 switches. Am I correct?

John

Yes… My house is U shaped and everything opens onto the back deck. Each access to the back deck has a light switch. I am hoping to find a way to integrate the back deck lighting into my overall home automation solution. I need to understand how to implement switches. Everything I have seen is limited to 3-4 switches.

Once you go beyond 3 switches, everything is the same-- just more 4-way switches in the middle! So you just need to follow the 4-way installation diagram in the manual.

Your switch circuit will be a 3-4-4-4-3. Note in the diagrams, you have to install the Inovelli switch at the position closest to the power source. Otherwise the switch will lose power when dumb switches before it in the circuit are toggled.

As seth said 4-way to 5,6,7 even 10 way is all wired the same.

Question:
Is a smart dimmer in one of the end locations with the remainder plain ON/OFF switches acceptable? It is the least cost, least wiring change solution.
HOWEVER, if the dimmer is set to bright and you want a romantic 30% you will have to go to the dimmer to make the change as the other switches can only control ON/OFF