Ghost light in red 2-in1 new installation

Good day, everybody.

I’m new in the smart home world and I got a couple of inovelli blue 2-1 smart switches.

Before this, I was familiar with electronics and electrical wiring, but for some reason I cannot make this installation work for non neutral :frowning:, advice would be very much appreciated.

The switch works perfectly on the turn on/off side.
I can use the home assistant app to make it work.

The issue is that I have “ghost light” where the lights are non 100% turned off. I saw that this happens because of residual electricity, which I think it makes sense for this non neutral installation? The light used to work fine before with the dumb switch.

So far I have tried the aotec bypass but this is non working either.

This is a picture of the lights “turned off”

I have tried this with and without this bypass.
But with no success so far.

Any thoughts here?

The bypass needs a neutral, which is why you’ll need to install it at the fixture in this case.

The way you have it now is not correct.

How to wire a bypass to your Nano Dimmer load. : Aeotec Help Desk (freshdesk.com)

3 Likes

What @hydro311 said, but what is the make and model of the lights? Can you post the details for a link? I am curious if that is a fluorescent tube or a LED tube and if those fixtures have a ballast.

1 Like

Good call!

Thanks for the responses!

I tried this bypass because I read somewhere on the internet that this was able to fix flickering and ghost lights despise not having neutral. Probably I understood that wrong.

For sure, the led is a generic/cheap one. A previous electrician installed in my aunt’s house:

23W, 127V ±10%
0.18A.

Right now the single pole switch handles two of this bulbs.

Here is the product link https://www-magg-com-mx.translate.goog/bl-flat-1200?_x_tr_sl=auto&_x_tr_tl=en&_x_tr_hl=en-US&_x_tr_pto=wapp&_x_tr_hist=true (translated to English)