Installed LZW31 dimmer switch (with neutral wiring). It works. Hours later, the lights stop turning on. Rewired and eventual same result. Please help?

I tried my best googling around for this behavior to see if there is a common wire configuration that might cause this. I have not found something similar just yet and was hoping to get some advice here.

• Model LZW31
  • Neutral setup
  • I believe single-pole

This is in my new home. I am brand new to working with electrical in any capacity. I installed one LZW31 dimmer switch in the same room without issue for a different set of lights. The wires in that particular gangbox were fairly straight forward. There was one green (ground), two black (one line and one load), and then a group of white wires capped together (neutral). So with that set and the fact that no other switches control these lights, I believe this was a single-pole installation.

In this second gangbox, it’s a bit more complicated since there are more wires. To my novice mind, that made me think that maybe this is a 3 or 4-way box, but these lights don’t have any other switch that controls them. There are two green wires with differing wire gauges. The thicker one was not able to fit in the ground slot on the dimmer switch, so I used the thinner one (spidey sense starts tingling).

This box also has three black wires. The original dumb switch had a black wire connected to it that was capped together with two of the black wires in the box. I assumed this is the load and the remaining third black wire is the line (spidey sense continues), which is capped with the second black wire from the dumb switch.

This box also has a similar of white wires capped together.

I’ve attempted two wiring setups and both have ended with the same result of initially working, but then not working later on (LED on switch stays on, but the switch won’t turn on the lights):

First attempt:

• Two black wires connected to the two load slots on the LZW31