Multiple Illumin lights "popcorn" effect on Hubitat

I am new to Inovelli, Z Wave, and Hubitat, so sorry for that.

I’ve got 3 new Illumin bulbs all installed in one fixture. I got them setup as devices with my Hubitat hub and the custom Inovelli driver no problem. I have full control over them. All good. Since they are in a single fixture, I want them to function in sync. The Inovelli site / documentation all suggests this is possible through Z Wave association and tested on ST and HE.

I have tried a number of different approaches including what I assume is the intended approach of creating a “Group” using the “Groups and Scenes” app in Hubitat. Added all 3 bulbs to that group and nothing else. I don’t have a smart switch in place to control this fixture and was just playing with using Alexa. So I exposed this fixture group through Alexa and added it to a dashboard as well. With both Alexa and the dashboard buttons, when I action the group it affects each light one at a time and always in the same sequence although the exact timing varies.

As I said, I tried a number of approaches which I can go into if helpful, but I assume there is just some specific black magic I’m unaware of and after a couple of hours of googling and forum diving, I’ve got nothing that works. Since this is apparently a supported and tested scenario, I’m hoping somebody out there (or at Inovelli!) can help educate me on this. And assuming there is an answer, perhaps Inovelli can get that put somewhere on their site / instructions so that others don’t have the same struggle.

Thanks!

Z-Wave association allows a switch to send commands directly to the bulbs, which mostly eliminates “popcorning” because the transmission is fast.

Inovelli has a tool that you can use to create association groups easily without having to manually set deviceIDs into groups: