What do the switches do if there is no hub connected?

I am new to home automation. My wife and I are building a new home and I am planning to add some red series dimmers and get a hubitat hub. There will be a significant stretch during the build and some time during the initial move in where I won’t have a hub set up. How do the switches operate with no hub? Are my builders going to hate me? Will my wife kill me? I’m hoping they still work, just up is on, down is off?

Even after the hub has been installed I’m expecting there will be occasional disruptions/outage with the hub and would like to know how the switches function in those circumstances.

Thanks to the Inovelli community/team. This community seems wonderful and helpful, the team seems thoughtful and engaging, and I’m looking forward to jumping into this world.

Thanks for your time!

Short answer- your wife and builders won’t hate you.
Without a hub, the switches will work just fine as normal switches, and you can turn the light on and off no problem.

Long answer:
The switches will keep working just fine without a hub. You can turn the light on and off and dim it. Any control by associations, either from the switch to another device or from another device to the switch, will continue to work as Z-Wave associations are direct links between devices.

However anything that depends on the hub won’t work. Anything based on scene control, including multi-tap of the paddle or single tap of the config button, won’t work. And any other devices that control the switch OTHER than by hardwired 3way or by direct association won’t work.

So for some examples:

• Dimmer hardwired to light fixture, tap paddle up/down. Works, light will turn on/off.
  • Dimmer hardwired to light fixture, hold paddle up/down. Works, light will dim up/down.
  • Dimmer hardwired to power, associated to smart bulb via groups 2/3/4. Works, smart bulb control by direct association will work.