Wishlist - Homelink to Z-Wave module

Hi,
I’m just getting in to Inovelli devices, but I have been using z-wave home automations for around 12 years.
One device I often struggle with is my Wayne Dalton WDHA-12 homelink to z-wave module. It is old, and not very compatible with various systems. It’s function is why are started with home automation in the first place. I wanted to be able to turn the lights in my alley and in my garage off and on from the built in homelink buttons in my car. The WDHA-12 module does this very well.
The downside, is that it is a dated device and can be very finicky, and I have not found an equivalent replacement, short of creating a new device with various sensors.

Wishlist item - I think there is interest for such a device. A modern version would be great, in my opinion!!

Hey @stefan.helmer – apologies for not seeing this. As I’m reading through this, is this basically some sort of bridge between HomeLink (garage door) to Z-Wave?

Would this essentially allow you to use your homelink buttons inside your car to pair to SmartThings or some other Z-Wave enabled hub?

Oh jeeze, I also did not see you replied! Two post conversation that spans more than a year. Haha.

Yes, it is pretty much as you describe. It’s a homelink to zwave bridge and with it, I can trigger zwave scenes on my Vera controller from my car. The device recieved a homelink signal from my car and sends out a zwave signal to my zwave controller to trigger a scene.

Car has built in 3 button homelink control. At the moment, button 1 acts as it would typically, just triggering the door opener direct. Button 2 and 3 go to the bridge and become zwave scenes to turn the lights off and on.

The bridge I have works fine, but not with any modern zwave controllers. So to keep current, I’d need to basically make my own bridge with a homelink reciever wired to a couple zwave contact switches, which at the end of the day, may be the easiest solution.