Are there any Step by step instructions on how to get Notifications on Inovelli Dimmers with Hubitat

I am new to Hubitat and to Inovelli switches. Slowly moving over from Wink. All I have connected to Hubitat are 2 Inovelli red dimmers and a door sensor. I am struggling with understanding how to get the notifications to work. I eventually would like to use the notification on a Inovelli switch in my bedroom to let me know if the garage door was left open. Are there any step by step instructions for Hubitat users. I have seen some instructions for SmartThings? Hubitat is testing me. Not as knowledgeable about this stuff as I’d like to be.
Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me.

I’ll assume you have sensors on garage door that report open/close? You’ll need to create the child switches under the main switch. Then you can use rule machine to create and trigger the notifications.

Right now, I’m testing it on a basement door sensor to see if I get any kind of notification when I open it. I have played around with rule machine a little, but its pretty much Greek. What action type would I pick? There is none for notifications, just switch or dimmer, are the most obvious ones. But then their actions do not include notifications either. Obviously, I’m lost.

1 Like

@Tccshenkes - I’ll take some screenshots when I get home if nobody beats me to it.

@Tccshenkes - Okay, here is how I did mine. May not be the most “code” sense, but it works for me. :man_shrugging:

First, create your child switches:

Make sure they’re visible under the main switch that you created the notifications:

Then go to Rule Machine and create a new rule. You’re going to use Contact as a Trigger and turn on “Switches” e.g.

I made all my notifications 2, 3, and 4 the same just so that I know all yellow flashing is for exterior doors, pink solid is garage door, etc… I didn’t want to memorize twenty different notifications.

Final Result: