Current Blue 2-1 Matter/Thread upgrade

I recently purchased a handful of the Blue 2-1 refurbs because they state they’re “upgradable to Matter/Thread”, however, now I’m wondering if that’s still the case. I saw on the Jonagold thread that the current Blue 2-1’s are still using the MG21 chip. I made the poor assumption that the refurbs were getting upgraded to the latest chipsets. I need to purchase half a dozen more switches, but wanted to ask a few questions about the upgrade first.

1. I understand that the MG21 may require a hard connection to do the Matter/Thread upgrade, is this a 1 time requirement? Or will it need a hard connection for future updates also? I’m a software engineer with plenty of hardware experience (who is looking for new opportunities if you’re hiring :smile:) so doing it once doesn’t bother me…but needing to do it many times just seems inconvenient.

2. My plan was to get the current Blue 2-1’s and then upgrade them to Thread/Matter when that stack gets all the features I need working. Are there any foreseeable reasons that the MG21 Blue’s won’t won’t get the same features as the MG24 Blue’s?

3. If I preorder the Blue’s on the website now, that will be for MG24 chipsets, correct?

Hey great questions, I’m happy to jump in and answer them!

Yeah, it’s been quite the ride trying to figure out what can/cannot be done with the MG21/MG24’s, etc. We were told initially that the MG21’s would be upgradeable via OTA to Matter. This was back in 2021 when we first kicked off the project.

Then around July 2021, the project manager for the manufacturer backtracked and said that it would not allow OTA, but rather a serial connection (hence the reason why we put the serial port on the PCB):