How did you end up deeeeeep in home automation?

So… How did you find yourself wasting… Sorry… Investing money and countless amount of time obviously on home automation?

What is your “profile”… Where do you come from? Who are you?

My name is Simon, I’m from Quebec City, QC, Canada.
I’ve always been interested in technology. My father was a computer freak, he was a programmer and he loved the “machine”… We never had a Mac and never will buy am apple product too… That’s my way of showing him respect… Kind of lol.

So. I’m a service technician for Siemens and I work on medium to hight voltage product. Power and distribution transformer, air, vacuum, sf6 breaker, disconnect and load switch, protection relays, stuff like that.

When I bought my house 5 years ago, I wanted rgb under cabinet lighting.

I was broke so I went full cheap and bought milight products from aliexpress.

I was really happy but the fade in/out mode was really too fast for me so I ended asking the internet and I found homeseer, a guy with a plugin to control those milight box.

OK. I’m in!

Damn! Homeseer is pricey… Remember I was broke AF. So I did want I do the best… Torrent… I found a version of it so I gave it a try. It worked very good! I could control my light the way I wanted.

Now I was like…mmm home automation software… Sounds cool!

So I read on that software and I found myself buying a zwave stick and 1 switch 1 dimmer from ge (they were the only one with screw terminal).

Next thing you know. I’m hooked up like a junkie.

I finally bought a legit version of homeseer on blackfriday (-50%) and now I’m still upgrading switch in the house and I found inovelli few weeks ago…

So… Tell me…
Who are you :slight_smile:

1 Like

Haha, oh man, this should be fun!

Hey, I’m Eric and I love answering 3-Way wiring questions.