How to wire bypass?

Is this the correct way to wire the bypass in? I’m running lzw31-sn with a single led bulb with neutral and even with bypass its still not turning off.

Prebypass was pulling in about 31 volts ac when off.

Haven’t checked post bypass yet.

That is correct. Does it dim at all when you toggle on/off? Which hub are you using?

Using home assistant. It dims somewhat when off.

Running zwavejs mqtt because it gives me the confit options

Have tweaked the various neutral options on and off to no avail

Sorry to ask, but this is a non-neutral install right? The fact that the light is staying lit kind of sounds like it might be wired with a neutral… Possibly, but then again I’m not an electrician…

Do you have an incandescent to try out? Some LEDs do not work well with the dimmers (MOSFET vs TRIAC). If not do you have a different brand LED?

It has a neutral wire hooked up

Incandescent works correctly.

Should I disconnect the neutral?

Make sure the terminals are fully wired in.

So the bypass is only required in a non-neutral config when there is not enough watts going across the dimmer. I would definitely keep your neutral wired up. Are you installing a bypass because the bulb stays dimly lit when “off”?

Not exactly correct. While the bypass is typically used in a non-neutral to allow enough current to keep the switch powered, it can also be used to bleed off leaked voltage in a neutral configuration.

No.

I can’t tell from looking at the housing. Are the bulbs swappable or did you wire in an incandescent separately? If the bulb is swappable, I’d try another one. Take a look at the compatibility list. It’s a work in progress currently being converted to another format. So if you don’t find something suitable there, shout out and Inovelli will look it up manually in the new, yet-to-be-published platform.

https://support.inovelli.com/portal/en/kb/articles/compatible-bulbs-gen-2-dimmers

2 Likes