Notification for Automations Running

I have some basic automations running so far and I’m finding that my wife continues to shut off the outside lights that I have running after sunset as she thinks they were left on by mistake. Oddly this is the only time she actually shuts lights off :slight_smile:
My thought here is to change the LED bar color on the dimmers to green while they are running an automation to avoid someone shutting them off.

Looking for some guidance in how I can accomplish this is Node Red with Home Assistant.

Thanks!

3 Likes

I’m far from an expert but install the “node-red-contrib-ha-inovelli-manager” palette.

Put your trigger feeding either the Inovelli LED or Scene manager node. Setup the node with the HA entity ID and then pick the type of device and the effect you want. You can use the LED manager to simply change the color of the strip or the Scene manager to put a scene. With a scene you can add effects but you lose the indication of on-off or dim level.

On the output of that put a HA Call Service node. In that node just put under output properties msg.payload = sent data. Ignore the red box around the data line.

LOL, I feel ya!

Just suggestions, as I understand you just want a notification to tell someone that an automation is running. Of course, that still won’t prevent anyone from turning off the light. So . . .

You could run an automation that disables local control of the switch while the automation is running, preventing them from turning it off. You could add an override with a multipress scene on the switch to turn the light off, sort of like the secret handshake.

More deviously, you could run an automation that would allow someone to turn the light off, wait a minute so they think they accomplished something, and then turn it back on. :sunglasses:

1 Like

Or quicker than a minute like:

Useless Box