NZW31 air-gap keeps popping out and turning off the light

I have an NZW31 switch with firmware version 1.2. The air-gap button on the bottom of it keeps popping out randomly, which turns off the light and prevents it from being turned back on. The light will immediately turn on when I push it back in, and sometimes that’s enough to get it back in working order for some time (even days), but often it’ll pop out again as soon as I stop pushing it in, and can take several tries before it’ll stay in. Sometimes I eventually give up and decide to work in the dark, and just turn on every other light in adjacent rooms to at least get a little bit of light. I’ve tried searching for information on this, but can’t find anyone asking about the air-gap constantly being triggered.

I’m a bit of a novice with these devices, so I don’t even know what the air-gap is for, and don’t know how to interpret this behavior. It was installed by our handyman quite a while back, so I don’t know any details of how he went about it, but I do know that he went off the included instructions.

I don’t think any smart home automations are related, partly because I don’t even have any set up for this light anymore (I cleared them all and set things up again fresh, and didn’t bother with this light because it’s been glitchy), but just in case: I’m running Home Assistant 2021.12.2 (hm, I should probably update that).

It is a switch that when pulled out cuts power to the load, so you can safely change a light bulb, for example. Absent a mechanical defect, they should not pop out on their own.