Red Switch + NodeRed + Hue = Dimmer Flow?

I’m using Red Dimmers to control Hue bulbs. I’ve got them all in smart bulb mode, so I’m using NodeRed for hooking up on/off, scene control and all that.

I’ve got all the wave scenes triggering correctly, and can turn on/off groups of Hue lights no problem.

My problem is recreating dimming action from the switch. I originally had been using Hubitat, and had this working with the Rule Machine, but moved everything over to Home Assistant and OpenZwave recently, and trying to keep all automation in NodeRed.

I set up a loop, and incremented the brightness, but it’s pretty garbage in terms of latency and getting hung up in the loop. Nothing at all like the “start ramping” then “stop ramping” action I was able to do in Hubitat. I’ve tried using the Hue Magic sub flow, but I don’t know if I’m just making it more complicated that way. I’m still a bit of a novice with NodeRed.

So my question is; does anyone have the full dimming action setup in NodeRed with Hue lights, and can you share your flow if you do? Below is what I’ve got started, the “Office Dimmer” pink node splits out all of the different scenes (1-tap, 2-tap, hold up, release up, etc). My issues is what should come after “hold up” and “release up”.

1 Like

I was able to get a hue light to work reasonably well with dimming in node red, it’s still not perfect but it works for me. I’m on my phone now but I can try to send my flow later.

Basically, the loop continues while hold is pressed but stops when release is detected. Then you configure the loop frequency and increase brightness percentage you prefer per step of the loop. I also set transition for each change to smooth out the dimming a bit. Here is a screenshot of the loop I’m using.

I switched over to node red for my lights earlier this year and it’s become much easier for me to manage in home assistant (after you get the hang of it).