Setup Red Switches/Dimmers with Home Assistant & Z-Wave JS

Hi,

I have a house full of Red switches & dimmers (new construction) :slight_smile: and I’m brand new to Home Assistant and not sure if I’m following the right resources.

I have home assistant setup on docker and z-wave JS also setup on docker.

I found this article, but it relies on open z-wave and I’m not sure if that is different than z-wave JS and I should be doing things differently, or if this is the right way to set things up.

Could use some guidance to ensure I set this all up correctly.

Thanks!

Yes Zwave JS is different than open z-wave.

Get Zwave JS Server set up via docker and make sure it is seeing your stick in the logs.

Home assistant SHOULD see the Zwave JS Server, but if it doesn’t, then add the following integration within Home Assistant: Z-Wave JS - Home Assistant

It should find the server and communicate over port 3000.

If you have any issues let us know! Welcome to Inovelli and Home Assistant!

Helpful links here: https://community.home-assistant.io/t/zwave-home-assistant-overview/277253

Thanks for the quick response. I believe I have home assistant and z-wave JS all setup on my NAS device.

What I’m confused on is what I need to do to start “adopting” the Inovelli switches. The doc I linked to above suggested a number of config changes and such, but that only applies to Open Z-Wave…so what setup/config changes do I need to make in my current setup?

The best news, NONE!

ZJS already has the config files that are being updated by the community. OZW relied on modifications because they stopped updating configurations.

It should find the manufacturer/device from the node information, match it to a config file, and set it up automatically!

That’s amazing!

That was what I was missing context on. So basically, I’ll just run through the “Include The Device” steps in that link.

Appreciate the extra context

1 Like