Tap up on dimmer for max brightness

So far loving my Red Series dimmer. One thing that seems like an easy win on the firmware side would be an optional second press on the dimmer’s up paddle while on to go to max brightness (one could still hold to dim up or down as always).

Is this already supported? Or is there a way it could be (without setting an automation for every switch in the house)?

Which hub you using? I think on Hubitat you could use the button controller and configure tap 2 up to go to max brightness and just click the dimmers you want included in that. Thus one time rule for all switches.

2 Likes

That could work great actually… but I’m even thinking if you tap once to turn it on, come back and tap again much later… Would that still capture a “2 tap” interaction? Or perhaps it’s as simple as a condition of a “tap while on” in that rule you described (I’m pretty new to hubitat)

Exactly what I have done and it works VERY well…

I use the double tap (two successive taps) to go to full brightness. But you could also write a rule that checks if the light is On and pressing it once more (two non successive taps), would go to full brightness.

2 Likes

Agree with @Ma2J on the above. Just not sure if you’re on Hubitat or feature rich hub.

Obviously all have to be Red series to capture multiple taps.

The two up would have to be successive in the 700ms time period if you don’t use the rule as @Ma2J described.

I’ve done this. I want my lamp to always go to 100% when tapped. So I did two things- first was set the dimmer default level z-wave parameter to be 100%. Second, create an event in HomeSeer- when the dimmer’s up paddle is tapped once, set the dimmer to 100%.

When the light is off, tapping the paddle turns it on to 100%. HomeSeer then sends a ‘dim to 100’ command a split second later but it’s redundant.

When the light is on but dimmed, the dimmer ignores the tap, but then gets the ‘dim to 100’ command from HomeSeer.