Smart Bulb Mode Optimization Thread

Disclaimer: I’m not an electrician nor an engineer so if you see something wrong in my explanation below or as I’m going through and responding, please feel free to correct me. I won’t be offended, I promise! My role is to collect the input from this thread and package it up nicely so that the everyday person (like myself) can understand it and use it easily. I’ll try my best to ask for clarity if I don’t understand.

Purpose
The purpose of this thread is to discuss smart bulb mode on our switches. If I’m being honest, this feature has taken on a mind of it’s own and even I don’t understand everything it can/can’t do. I’ll outline below the history of Smart Bulb Mode, the way in which we approached it and then at the end we’ll track the changes we’ve made (and will continue to make based on feedback) so at the end of the day, we can perfect this feature as it’s a major selling point and need in the industry.

Vocabulary
Before we dive into the history, approach and game-plan moving forward, it’s important to understand the vernacular used as it can be confusing and I will admit, I’m the primary culprit who made everyone confused as I didn’t quite understand the technology or terms being thrown around (here’s my public apology – sorry).

Disable Relay
This was used a lot in our marketing, but I regret daily ever using this phrase as I found out later, it’s the wrong phrase to use and I get reminded almost daily here lol. I’m going to do my best to not use this phrase moving forward. However, for explanation and historical purposes, here’s what was meant by this phrase – the switch has two ways to disable the internal relay (again, I realize now that the dimmer does not have a relay so this term is incorrect): local (at the switch) and remote (via Z-Wave and your hub).