First-timer questions about dimmer switches

I’ve never done home automation before and plan to start with some Red Series Dimmer switches. From reading about them, I have several questions. I’m not an electrician, so I’m trying to make sure I’m prepared before I get someone out to install them.

1. The dimmer switches say they don’t require a neutral wire, but mention the possible need for a bypess under light loads. What does that mean? If the dimmer switch is controlling a couple LED lights, won’t the load always be small? My house is new construction, I assume this means it has no neutral wire, but I don’t know if I should get some bypesses just in case? Is there any way to know in advance if you’ll actually need one?

2. There are a number of rooms that currently have two switches, one on either side of the room, which can be used to turn lights on/off. My understanding is that the Red Series dimmer switch handles this scenario just fine. Does it require software configuration to work? Do the two switches need to sync up in some way? Or is it automatic based on the physical wiring?

3. Are the paddles on the switch of a standard shape, as far as buying face plates to cover them? Or do I need to get something specific? Right now my house has the little stick-lever switches.

4. The appeal is of course to control the switches over Z-Wave. But am I correct in assuming they still work offline? For example, if the power in the house blinked and the hub or wireless network went down, I assume the switches still act as dumb light switches? Does each switch remember it’s dimming configuration through power loss?

5. I know it’s unsafe to connect a dimmer switch to a non-dimmable LED bulb, but what about the other way around? I’m wondering if I can streamline the installation process if I already have dimmable LED bulbs installed (they are in recessed fixtures in the ceiling), connected to the original non-dimmer switches.