Hue, Switches, and Home Assistant

Hello all,

I’m relatively new to home automation, and still new to Home Assistant and smart lighting. I’m not new to computers, but I’ve started to fall into the smart lighting and automation scene pretty quickly!

I’m ready to expand our Hue lighting (I do have a Hue bridge as well) in the house and wanted to take that opportunity to replace switches with ones that can turn the lights on/off but keep them available for app control, etc. This isn’t an unusual use case, I realize.

In doing some searching, I found the thread below:

If I’m reading this correctly, then I can use Home Assistant along with my Inovelli dimmer switch to talk to my Hue lights, correct? However, I’ll need a z-wave receiver/stick, or something on my HA host for this to work, right?

Red series switch (LZW30-SN) or Red series dimmer ( (LZW31-SN)?

You need a zwave stick and install the zwaveJS integration and add-on. How you do that depends on how you run HA. Once it is installed, you add the dimmer and then you can access it in HA. You need to set it to smart bulb mode so that it keeps the load turned on all the time. For basic operation, you can look when the level of the switch changes and match the bulbs to it. Something like this post.

ok - awesome. that was my understanding - just wanted to make sure i wasn’t overcomplicating things or missing something!

so, i would have to move off of my hyper-v implementation (given its issues with usb pass through) or run some sort of workaround or something if i wanted to stay on hyper-v.

would anything change if using the red series dimmer instead of the switch? or, would it just be different config/alias/entities, etc?

one additional question - would the upcoming blue series product change any of this?

The blue series is zigbee so the switch should be able associate (forget zigbee term) directly to the bulb. No need to go through the bridge.