LZW36 Z-wave association with Ilumin Bulbs not working

I am attempting to associate 4 Ilumin color bulbs with my LZW36 fan/light switch.

I have the Local protection level set to Light:

And used the Z-wave association tool to associate the parent device to the four bulbs (group 2). In the parent data I see associateGroup2 having four hex numbers that match the DNI of the four bulbs.

The bulbs say they are in Association Group 1

In other threads, I see that z-wave security can be an issue. My hub is currently set to secure join for locks/garage doors.

In the devices themselves, I don’t see any indication of what level of security they are joined at, but I am not entirely sure what I should be looking for either.

After all this, nothing happens when I push the light button on the LZW36. This is my first attempt at using association, so I am pretty new to the idea. Any ideas how I can get this working? What is the best way to troubleshoot and get this working?

Thanks

Well, I just got a Z-wave stick, and joined it as a secondary controller. Looking at the switch and the four bulbs, they all have security off … so seems there is something else going on.

Anyone know how to read the topology map from Z Wave PC Controller?

I suspect blue means they can communicate, but I am unsure why it is not symmetrical. For instance column 12 (the switch), is all red, but row 12 is not.

There are 2 components to setting local protection. The Local Protection setting just defines what is protected when local protection is enabled. If you havent already, make sure you enable local protection by holding the light dimmer up button and pressing the light on/off button 8x.

Association Group 2 is tied to the light dim up/down buttons. Pressing the light dim up button 1x will send a basic set command to turn on associated devices. Pressing light dim down will likewise send basic set off command.